Just Asking…(Are you putting action steps to your dreams?)

When a person has a dream, he has direction in his life, in other words, he is moving towards a goal. I thought about this concept for a moment and realized that many people don’t have dreams. Many don’t know where they want to go in life. Many are just wandering through life, hoping that something will come along and motivate them. Isn’t that a sad commentary? Isn’t it pitiful to live day after day roaming aimlessly?

 

On the other hand, others have big dreams. If you ask them about their dreams, they can rattle them off without hesitation. They know exactly what they want. When you ask them what they are doing to make their dreams happen, they say they’re waiting for Lady Luck or waiting for the right opportunities.

 

You may think the second group has an advantage over the first, but if you examine both groups closely, you will see that they are in the same situation. A dream without action steps is about the same as having no dream at all. If someone wants things to happen, he has to take steps in order to prepare for it. The steps may seem small and insignificant, but they are steps nonetheless.

 

I learned this lesson the hard way. I had many things I wanted to accomplish in life. I reviewed my list regularly, but nothing from the list ever came to fruition. Things didn’t change until I started putting muscles behind my dreams. I started by setting small goals. If I found myself moving in a wrong direction (which I did on several occasions), I reevaluated my steps and took a different course. The progress was barely noticeable at first, but the more steps I took, the further I moved away from the starting line. Now years have passed, and I’m further along on my journey than when I started.

 

What are your dreams? What are you doing to make them happen? If you can’t answer these questions, you may find yourself roaming aimlessly through life, hoping your ship rolls in. As one wise person told me, don’t wait for your ship to roll in, go out to meet it. And if you find that ship doesn’t have your name on it, don’t set up camp there; keep swimming until you find the ship that does.

Books by Levon

2 thoughts on “Just Asking…(Are you putting action steps to your dreams?)

Leave a Reply

