Just Asking… (Have you written down your goals, or are they figments of your imagination?)


When I get in my car, and I want to head to a destination but don’t know how to get there, I would be foolish to start driving, hoping I would somehow end up in the right place. Instead, I type my destination’s address into my GPS (Global Positioning System). I can’t explain all of the technical applications of this apparatus, but I know it does the job of getting me from point A to point B if I follow directions. Not only that, it gives me an approximate arrival time. If I don’t arrive at my destination around the time suggested, I know something went wrong. There was an obstacle (maybe a car accident), or I got off course. However, I know I’ve made it when the GPS says that I’m arriving at my destination.

 

Many people can see the rationale in the above example, but when it comes to their lives, they travel on life’s highways, hoping they’ll end up in the right place. They have never set their destinations (or goals), and if they have set goals, they have never written them down.

 

The first thing a person has to do in order to reach his destination is decide where he wants to go, but he has to make sure he sets something realistic. After he’s decided the destination (goal), he needs to write it down (equivalent to typing address in the GPS). Writing down goals gives him a visual roadmap to follow. (Most people fail at this step. They believe having goals in their heads is just as good as having them in written form.) Next, he needs to write down small steps or objectives that will help him reach his goal (similar to following specific directions). Then he can set a timeframe for his goals.

 

This may be a time-consuming process, but remember, anything worth having is going to cost something. So sacrifice a little time and write out some goals you want to accomplish. You never know, you may surprise yourself and accomplish them all.

Books by Levon

2 thoughts on “Just Asking… (Have you written down your goals, or are they figments of your imagination?)

  1. zirim

    This is actually something I just came across in a book im reading and it is such good advice and so common sense yet not very many people do it. I recommend also doing a dream board for those people who prefer to actually see pictures. You put aside a space and attach pictures to it that correlate to what you want in the future. Either way i love that you mentioned this. Thanks 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. vonchris Post author

      Good advice. I have written goals, but I want to add pictures as well. I think it’ll reinforce what I’m already doing. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

