Just Asking… (Are you taking yourself too seriously?)

I woke up thinking about the adage “all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.” The day before I was consumed with thoughts about all of the things I had to do, and this saying made me think about the last time I let my hair down and had fun. I didn’t have to do anything elaborate, but I was determined to slow down and smell the roses today. I was determined to watch the birds fly and take the time to feel the wind blow. I was determined that I would admire the small wonders in life and thank God for giving me another day to enjoy my beautiful surroundings. I was determined to take the time to thank Him for the people He placed in my life (those I understood and those I didn’t). I was determined not to go too fast, just take it easy for a few hours and do some of the things I liked to do instead of some of the things I needed to do.

 

Once I took time to enjoy my surroundings, I started to have a deeper appreciation for life. I laughed at the silly things, sang some old childhood songs (even though they were off key), watched a funny movie, and spent time reflecting on my blessings. It made a world of difference. After a few hours of relaxing, let-your-hair down time, I was recharged. I was able to do more of what I needed to do with limited stress.

 

It was such a fulfilling experience, I want others to take a little time to get off track in order to play, sing, dance, watch the sunset, smell a flower, watch a funny movie, or do some other thing that takes the edge off. Shrug off the serious side for a little while and have childlike fun. Turn the water hose on in your yard and get wet. Race with your children and let them win. Sing something that will put a smile on your face. And don’t worry about perfection because you can’t improve on having harmless fun, the kind that brings a smile to your face.

Books by Levon

Leave a Reply

