Just Asking… (Do you have the courage to release things that no longer fit in your life?)

 

I’m ashamed to admit it, but I finally faced the truth and donated some of my clothes to charity. Don’t get me wrong, they weren’t things I didn’t want, to be honest, I really wanted them, but as time passed, the extra weight that snuck up on me wouldn’t allow me to enjoy some of those outfits that used to tastefully adorn my body. I told myself that I would keep them, hoping to fit in them again, but instead of comfortably slipping back into some of my favorites, I tried to squeeze into some of the uncooperative pieces without success. Not only that, the pieces that once made me feel alive and vibrant when I was younger didn’t have the same impact on me since I’ve matured.

 

I wish I could say I was totally gleeful as I parted with some of my beloved things, but I experienced mixed emotions because they reminded me of a different time in my life, a time when those styles and tastes suited me, but no longer seemed appropriate for who I am today.

 

Can you relate to hanging onto something in your life that once fit but now is more of a burden than a blessing? It once suited you to a tee, but now it seems uncomfortable no matter how hard you try to make it fit. If this is the case, maybe you need to face the truth and clean out the closet of your life. Maybe you need to assess your life and examine what you’re guarding with every fiber of your being. Is that sacred thing improving your life, or is it stunting your growth? If you’re honest with yourself, you may discover that you are a different person now, and the thing that you once sported with ease no longer suits your style. If you find this to be true, hoard it no longer, release it, and let it go.

Books by Levon

Leave a Reply

