Just Asking… (Have you ever taken a leap of faith?)

 

As I sit here reflecting on some of my decisions, the above question popped into my mind. I gave the question some serious thought, and as a result decided to describe a time when I took a leap of faith. At the time, I didn’t know whether it was foolish or wise, but I knew it was something I had to do in order to be satisfied with myself.

 

For a little over twenty years, I worked as a counselor, addressing women’s issues, addictions, family dynamics, etc. I had seen many types of individuals over the course of my career, and I was very fortunate to have had mentors who showed me the ropes. I worked hard and devoted most of my waking hours to helping my clients. Then, it occurred. After about nineteen years in, I started to feel dissatisfied with my profession. It seemed the empathy and compassion I had for others grew thin, and I was more interested in finishing my day than meeting the daily challenges I knew I would face. I tried to ignore the promptings that it was time for me to change courses. Just the thought of leaving the familiar was frightening (even though remaining was becoming unbearable).

 

Finally, after a two-year struggle, I decided to leave what I knew in order to do what I loved. I wish I could say I had everything in order when I took the plunge, but I didn’t. I knew in my heart I was doing the right thing, but the circumstances blared that I was making a huge mistake. And to be honest, it wasn’t all smooth sailing, but regardless of my circumstances, I knew I would eventually be all right.

 

Was it scary? Yes it was. Were there times when I wanted to turn back? Yes there were. Did I second-guess myself? Yes I did. Did I question God? Of course. In spite of all of my unsteady emotions, and frightening thoughts, I stayed the course. I knew I would not have made it without God’s guidance and the support of my family.

 

Taking that leap was scary but remaining where I was would have been devastating. There’s one lesson I learned as a result of taking a leap of faith. Sometimes the only way to walk in your destiny is to take that chance on you. If you never leap, you’ll never know.

Books by Levon

 

 

Leave a Reply

